The South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame

Our Mission is to honor those who, by outstanding achievement or service, have made lasting contributions to the cause of sports in South Carolina, the nation, and the entire world.
To preserve records of teams and individuals, to promote the ideals and traditions of sports as a positive influence on our youth as a potent factor in our South Carolina way of life.
To maintain and improve the high esteem which sports occupy in our great state.


Inductee Nomination Form >>


Officers (2025)
  • Bill Hamilton


  • Randy Warrick

    1st Vice President

  • Jim Corbett

    2nd Vice President

  • Rick Sanford

    3rd Vice President

  • Tara Moore


  • Andy Solomon

    Executive Director

  • Gloria Friedgen


    Isle of Palms
Executive Committee (2025)

Bill Hamilton, Chair, Orangeburg
Tony Ciuffo, Clemson/Charleston
Jim Corbett, Columbia
Bill D’Andrea, Central

Sonny Dickinson, Columbia

Julian Gibbons, Columbia

Jeff Grantz, Columbia
Jeff May, Greenwood
Rick Sanford, West Columbia
Xavier Starkes, Columbia
Randy Warrick, Aiken/Columbia
Andy Solomon, Ex-Officio, Charleston
Gloria Friedgen, Ex-Officio, Isle of Palms

Board of Directors (2023-24)

Matti Anttila, Mt. Pleasant   

Jim Armour, Rock Hill

Kent Atkins, Greenwood

Heather Bailey, Greenville

Russ Bergman, Myrtle Beach

Sam Blackman, Clemson

Doug Bridges, Blythewood

Tony Ciuffo, Clemson/Charleston

Jim Corbett, Columbia

Bill D’Andrea, Central

Larry DiBiase, Camden

Sonny Dickinson, Columbia

Thornwell Dunlap, Greenwood

Wayne Earhardt, Columbia

Kay Fortune, Columbia

Courtney Geiger, Hartsville

Julian Gibbons, Columbia

Lee Glaze, Sumter​

Tripp Jones, Columbia

Ricky Ladd, Columbia

Clint Leach, Columbia

Jeff May, Greenwood

Casey Manning, Columbia

Cole McCarter, Columbia

Steve McGuirt, St. Helena Island

Ritchie McQueeney, Columbia

Tom McQueeney, Mt. Pleasant

Nick Milasnovich, Columbia

Floyd Nicholson, Greenwood

Stan Olejnik, Spartanburg

Bill Owings, Columbia

Cobb Oxford, Anderson

Ralph Patterson, Due West

Jeff Grantz, Columbia

Bill Hamilton, Orangeburg

John Hibbits, Orangeburg

Willie Jeffries, Elloree

Danny Johnson, Charleston
Boone Peeler, Gaffney

Robert Porcher, Charlotte/Mt. Pleasant

Buddy Pough, Orangeburg

Dennis Powell, Columbia

Eddie Robinson, Columbia

Rick Sanford, Columbia

David Santos, Charleston

Don Sherard, Abbeville

Xavier Starkes, Columbia

Charles Thompson, Jr., Charleston

Kyle Tisdale, Georgetown

Randy Warrick, Aiken/Columbia

Ken Wheat, Columbia

Charles Wyatt, Gaffney

Clint Leach, Columbia


Past Presidents

Frank Howard* (1973-74)

Charlie Bradshaw* (1975-76)

Larry Patterson (1977)

Bob Sharpe* (1978)

James F. Coggins (1979)

John Beasley* (1980-81)

Tatum Gressette* (1982)

C. Dan Joyner* (1983)

Jerry L. Frye (1984-85)

W.J. Neely* (1986)

John D. Gregory (1987)

J. Lambert Schwartz* (1988)

Louis Williams* (1989)

Thomas E. Suggs (1990)

William A. Hudson* (1991)
Donald C. Bailey (1992)

Grant Bennett* (1993)


L. Casey Manning (1994)

A. Camden Lewis* (1995)

Harry “Sid” Varney* (1996)

Ephraim Ulmer (1997)

Stuart Point* (1998)

Jay Pitts (1999)

Robin Chandler* (2000)

Dom Fusci* (2001)

Henry Chastain* (2002)

Grady Ray* (2003)

Sonny Dickinson (2004)

Peter L.M. DiVenere* (2005)

W.J. Jordan (2006)

DuBose R. “Bosie” Martin* (2007)

Glenn Brackin* (2008)

Willie Jeffries (2009)

Andy Solomon (2010)


Julian Gibbons (2011)

Charles R. Thompson, Jr. (2012)

Nicky McCarter (2013)

Kay Fortune (2014)

F. Xavier Starkes (2015)

Sam Blackman (2016)

Thomas McQueeney (2017)

Steve McGuirt (2018)

Dr. Tripp Jones (2019)

Dennis Powell (2020-22)

Bill D’Andrea (2023)


*Denotes deceased