Press Releases

The 2023 SCAHOF Induction Ceremony & Banquet is sold out

The 2023 SCAHOF Induction Ceremony & Banquet is sold out

COLUMBIA, S.C. (May 9, 2023) -- The 2023 South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony & Banquet is once again a sellout with approximately 900 individuals slated to attend. The event, set for Monday, May 15 at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center, will also be streamed live over the internet at beginning at approximately 6:30 p.m.

The largest annual celebration of Palmetto State sports stars under one roof includes the traditional introduction of past inductees, the “Walk of Legends”. The affair includes a reception and dinner.

Being enshrined in the hall of fame this year from the University of South Carolina include men’s soccer coach Mark Berson, wide receiver Robert Brooks of Greenwood and track & field standout Dawn Ellerbe, while Clemson University will be represented by quarterback Woody Dantzler (Orangeburg-Wilkinson HS) and men's golf coach Larry Penley. Columbia’s Jermaine O’Neal, who left for the NBA after playing at Eau Claire High School and Joe Hamilton of Alvin and Macedonia High, who starred as Georgia Tech’s quarterback. Charles “Chino” Smith of Antioch in Darlington County will be enshrined posthumously for his outstanding play in the Negro Leagues.

Being recognized with the Willie Jeffries Ambassador for Sports Award is the band Hootie & the Blowfish while longtime media relations professional Charlie Dayton will be honored with the Bobby Richardson Sportsmanship Award. Tennis historian Rex Maynard will receive the Doc Blanchard Citizen for Sports Award while veteran scribe Willie T. Smith, III will be honored with the Herman Helms Excellence in Media Award. Doug Bridges will be recognized with the Dom Fusci Leadership in Action Award.  

The organization will also honor the North Greenville University baseball team for capturing the NCAA Division II National Championship in 2022, USC coach Dawn Staley for being named the Naismith Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year, and Lander wrestling coach R.C. LaHaye for being named The Mat NCAA Division II Coach of the Year.